Dec 23 2016

  • Delhi Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung submitted his resignation to the Central Government, 18 months prior to his completion of term.
  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi laid foundation stone of Madan Mohan Malviya Cancer Centre in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh. He also inaugrated super-speciality hospital at Banaras Hindu University,trade facilitation centre and a crafts museum, along with some projects under the Union Textile Ministry.
  • Union Minister of State for Ayush Shripad Yesso Naik inaugurated North Eastern Institute of Ayurveda and Homeopathy (NEIAH) in Shillong, capital city of Meghalaya
  • The Union Finance Ministry has allowed use of old bank notes of 500 and 1,000 rupees for payment towards tax, surcharge, penalty and deposit under the Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Yojana (PMGKY) till 30 December 2016.
  • The Union Water Resources Ministry has reconstituted a committee that was tasked with assisting the Krishna River Management Board (KRMB). The new committee will be headed by A.K. Bajaj, former chairman of the Central Water Commission (CWC)
  • The Union Ministry of Coal has launched Coal Mitra, a web portal for allowing flexibility in utilization of domestic Coal.
  • The Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) has become the first force in the world to induct yaks for strategically pivotal logistic support duties. Yaks are commonly referred as the ‘ships of the cold deserts’.
  • France became the first country in the world to use drones for national mail service.
  • Flock, a team messenger for businesses has launched world’s first chat operating system “FlockOS”. It allows developers to build customised apps, bots and integrations on Flock.
  • Scientists have named pink-and-yellow coral-reef fish as Tosanoides obama in the honour of outgoing US President Barack Obama.
  • Recently released Global Wage Report 2016-17 released by the International Labour Organisation (ILO) has found that India suffers from huge gender pay gap.
  • Five-time world champion and Olympic bronze medalist MC Mary Kom was awarded the AIBA Legends award by the International Boxing Federation (AIBA)
  • Indian offspiner Ravichandran Ashwin won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being named the ICC Cricketer of the Year besides the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year. He is only the third Indian player ever win this trophy. The other two Indians are Rahul Dravid (won in 2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s